An Overview of Astrology in Hindi

If you are interested in astrology in Hindi, then you’ll be learning all about the system of Jyotisha. This is the traditional system of Hindi astrology and astronomy and is also called Vedic, Indian or Hindu astrology.

It has three primary branches: Hora (predictive astrology), Samhita (everyday astrology, related to things like wars, political incidents, earthquakes, personal financial choices, and so on), and Siddhanta (Indian astronomy).


Astrological Elements

The Rasi

The Rasi, or the zodiacal signs, are one of the most important elements of astrology in Hindi.

Near 2500 BC, the sages Bhrigu and Agastya wrote a number of texts that have formed the basis for tracking these signs. The Nirayana (sidereal zodiac) consists of a 360-degree belt, which has 12 equal divisions. Each of these divisions is a rasi (sign).

Jyotisa differs from Western zodiacs in the way that it measures the divisions. While Western zodiacs generally follow the motion of the planets as they relate to the placement of the sun at the vernal equinox, Jyotisa views all of the stars as forming a set background, which is the base point for measuring the movement of all the planets.

This becomes quite a significant difference as time goes by. By 500 BC, for example, this had led to a difference of approximately 22 degrees of progress around the two zodiacs. The Jyotisa system keeps planets consistent with the real zodiac, while Western methods have the planets in their signs only about 60 percent of the time.

The twelve signs are Mesa (ram), Vrsabha (bull), Mithuna (twins), Karkata (crab), Simha (lion), Kanya (girl), Tula (balance), Vrscika (scorpion), Dhanus (Bow), Makara (sea monster), Kumbha (pitcher), and Mina (fish). Note that the animals and concepts are roughly the same as those in the Western zodiac; it is the timing of the Rasi that differs.


The sky itself divides into 27 parts, each one of the Naksatra, or lunar mansions. This is another important element of Hindi astrology.

Each Naksatra splits into quarters, but the most important is the Abhiseka Naksatra, which represents the monarch of all of the other Naksatras. If you honor and propitiate this particular Naksatra, you can solve any problems arising in any of the other Naksatras.

This type of worship is one of the most common things people try to do in predictive astrology, and it is often helpful in ameliorating the harmful effects of karma.

Dasha (Dasa)

The Dasha, or planetary period, refers to a state of being, often referring to an individual’s state. Using the Dasha system helps you determine which planets have been the most active during any period of time.

Depending on what your ruling planet is, your actions and thoughts will be largely determined by your planet’s nature during that planet’s period. There are several systems of Dashas, including the Dashas of Grahas (referring to planets), and the Dashas of Rasis (referring to signs). The Vimsottari Dasha system is the one most frequently used by astrologers.

The very first Maha-Dasha is set by the natal Moon’s position in a particular Naksatra, and that Naksatra’s lord has power over the Dasha. While your planet is in that particular Naksatra during your Dasha, that lord has power over your actions as well.


According to astrology in Hindi, there are nine Grahas, or planets. Taken together, these planets comprise the forces that either blind or capture the mind, taking over the process of making decisions within the human mind.

When Grahas become active within their Dasas, they have more power to manage the everyday life of the person or object, depending on the particular situation. Grahas are always at work capturing people in one way or another.

The word “yoga” comes from this element of astrology, and the term actually refers to the way planets align in relationship with one another. The word’s meaning is really “yoking,” or the confluence of several astrological identities. They break down into several different types of combinations.

Raja Yogas bestow status, authority and fame, and they generally appear from the blessings from Laskmi and Visnu. Dhana Yogas appear when wealth-giving planets associate with one another, like Labhesa (the 11th Lord) or Dhanesa (the 2nd Lord). Dhana Yogas also appear through the helpful positionoing of the Darapada. Combining the Bhagyesa and Lagnesa also builds wealth through Laksmi Yoga. Sanyasa Yogas come from placing four or more Grahas (not including the Sun), within a Kendra Bhava).


The last element of astrology in Hindi are the Bhavas, or the houses. The Bhava Cakra, also known as the Birth Chart, consists of the whole 360-degree circle of life.

This circle divides into houses and shows how we bring influences to the wheel. Each house has its own karaka planets that can influence the way a particular house receives interpretation. Each Bhava covers 30 degrees, which means that any horoscope chart has twelve Bhavas.

Also known as states of being, the Bhavas bring personalization of the Rasis, and every Rasi sends its impact to people through the Bhava where the person currently is dwelling.

History of Astrology in Hindi

There are no references to planets in any Sanskrit text before the third century BC; interestingly, this was the same time frame when the Greeks placed a settlement in Bactria.

When the Hellenistic (Greek) system of astrology was introduced to India, the planetary order in India then became connected to the seven-day week. The idea of the twelve signs of the zodiac and the twelve positions of astrology also entered Hindi astrology at that time.

The fact that the first Sanskrit texts about astrology all refer to the Greek system or mirror elements of Greek astrology is just one sign that the Greeks had a significant impact on the Indian system. The Saravali and the Brhat Parasara Horasastra are the earliest major texts of Hindi astrology, both dating to the eighth century CE.

Astrology in Hindi Culture Today

For many Hindus, astrology is still an important part of everyday life.

Many newborns receive names on the basis of their Jyotisa charts, and astrological ideas are important in choosing the best dates to get married, start a new company or move into a new dwelling.

In modern India, astrology is one of the respected sciences, and it is also an important part of Hindu folk belief, with the influences of the planets creating the “fruit of karma.” It remains an important element throughout the Hindi culture.
Helpful Links for Astrology in Hindi: